Knowledge Base

How do I qualify for the homestead exemption?

The homestead exemption is more correctly known as the Principal Residence Exemption (PRE). The qualifications are simple; you must own and occupy the home as your principal residence on or before June 1. Recent legislation allows for a partial homestead for homes acquired after June 1 and before November 1. A person or a married couple is allowed only one PRE in the State.  You may not claim an exemption in any other state. The exemption continues until the use of the home as your principal residence changes.  When the change occurs, you must notify the assessor's office in writing.  Recent legislation has allowed the granting of a second homestead under certain conditions. The Conditional Rescission is available when the previous homestead is not occupied or rented, and is listed for sale. Please contact the Assessing Department if you think you qualify for the additional exemption. 

Click here for Assessing Forms.
Updated 6/2/2015 4:40 PM
Was this page helpful? Yes No
Thanks for your feedback!